[返回军事纵横首页]·[所有跟帖]·[ 回复本帖 ] ·[热门原创] ·[繁體閱讀]·[版主管理]
彭佩奥诚实地回答了问题
送交者: 老尅[♂★★声望品衔10★★♂] 于 2023-02-17 3:18 已读 1630 次 5 赞  

老尅的个人频道

彭佩奥的讲演的题目是“Why Diplomacy Matters.”
“We lied, we cheated, we stole.”是他在回答
“How do you balance condemnations with concessions in diplomacy with a controversial government such as Saudi Arabia? ”
这个问题时用西点军校的校训(他是西点毕业的)作为对比说明不同的事情需要不同地对待,不同的部门有不同的职责。 6park.com

“We lied, we cheated, we stole. It’s – it was like – we had entire training courses. (Applause.) It reminds you of the glory of the American experiment.”
中国人的翻译是:
 “我们撒谎、我们欺骗、我们偷窃。我们还有一门课程专门来教这些。这才是美国不断探索进取的荣耀。 6park.com

“It reminds you of the glory of the American experiment.” 这句该怎么翻译?^_^
"这才是美国不断探索进取的荣耀" ?

下面就是那段对话(其实最好从头到尾听一遍,你会发现相比于中国,美国是一个多么自信的国家。这就是令杨洁篪愤愤不平的“实力地位”吧。照仓央嘉措的观点:你承认不承认,实力地位就在那。) 6park.com

Q: Hi, Mr. Secretary. My name is Ben Allen (ph), and I’m a civil engineering student. My question for you is: How do you balance condemnations with concessions in diplomacy with a controversial government such as Saudi Arabia? Thank you.

P: So I always begin with a deep understanding that no secretary of state gets through their first day without recognizing it’s a tough world out there. We don’t appreciate how glorious it is to be here in the United States of America on a consistent enough basis and with enough fervor. Maybe you do here at Texas A&M, but I think too many Americans don’t understand how blessed we are. These are – are many, many tough places out there.